Cooking with Kid: Molasses Cookies

"Jar of cookies"I’ll let you into a secret. I think I’m very bad at cooking with my elder daughter.  I get annoyed with her as she pokes at the dough and steals samples and hovers excitedly while I work out what to do next and I wish I could just sneak off to the kitchen and do it all by myself.

But I believe it is important to cook with your kids and I know she enjoys it.  Her pre-school nursery has also been great for reminding us just how competent 3 and 4 year olds can be.  They encourage them to chop apples for apple crumble and potatoes from their garden for potato soup. So I gird my loins and remind myself to be calm and we make things together, while distracting younger with a tub of keys.

"Small girl next to a baking tray of uncooked biscuits"

I didn’t take photos of the previous step but she had just rolled the biscuits in sugar and then she pressed them down into rounds using a glass.  We had a pretty good production line with me rollig the dough into balls and then passing them to her with her bowl of sugar.

"A cooling tray of molasses biscuits"The end result cooling. There are still a few left, two days later but I suspect they won’t last the day.

"Girl next to biscuit jar biting into a molasses cookie""Small girl next to a jar of biscuits, holding one up so it hides her mouth"

The recipe is from this website and we use margarine rather than butter.  The spices and molasses are so strong that this isn’t one of the recipes where I feel like I’m missing out by not using butter. Also, these biscuits are amazing.  The first time I bought a jar of molasses to use in this recipe I emptied it in about 2 weeks.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in cooking with kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

