Recipe Book Review – Vegan with a Vengeance

"a chocolate muffin has a candle in it and a 1 year old baby is smilling for the camera. In the background her father is pointing at the camera while looking at the baby"

When I first realised I needed to stop eat milk products (pregnant with eldest and any milk made me throw up.  It wasn’t fun.) I panicked as, to be honest, I tended to cook using the theory that cheese and cream made most things taste better.  Which I still believe is true, but is no longer an option for me.

I’m the sort of person who, once the panic has calmed slightly, heads straight for a book shop.  So I hit the cookery section and came back with 2 books.  One of which was specifically for a dairy free diet and I never really got on with it for some reason (I will check and see if I still have it and may review it in future.) The other was Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz which is still one of my favourite cook books.  It is an unfussy cook book with tasty recipes that are easy to make and that are good in their own right rather than being poor substitutes for meat containing dishes.

In the end, the recipes in this book that we have ended up making repeatedly have been the muffins, cookies and cakes.  But I think this is unfair to the book that also has some really lovely savoury dishes that I just haven’t got into the habit of making.  I will try to do some in the near future and take pictures.  And the absolute most popular recipe from the book is the chocolate muffin which I used as a birthday cake recipe before the Octonauts even existed.  A large chocolate muffin was more than enough for her to get all over herself, which is exactly what you need for your first birthday.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in Book reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

