Recipe: Roast Chicken with Lemon, Chilli and Mint

image

I’m not sure where this recipe comes from – it currently exists as a torn bit of magazine on my mother’s fridge.  The original has chicken legs but skinless breasts were what we had, which I suspect is why this didn’t turn out great – I think the idea is the chicken fat runs out and thickens the liquid, cutting the intense lemon-ness.  Instead it was watery and very very lemon-y.  I like lemon but I also like other flavurs. I’m mostly writing the recipe down to remind myself I want to try again with possibly more suitable meat.

Roast Chicken with Lemon, Chilli and Mint

4 pieces of chicken
4 cloves of garlic
1 teaspoon chilli flakes
2 lemons
6 tablespoons of olive oil
thyme
2 handfuls mint

Cut the surface of the pieces of chicken. Mix them with the oil, herbs except for the mint, chilli, the juice of both lemons and the zest of 1, until well coated. Leave to sit for at least 30 minutes.

Heat the oven to 200 C

Put the chicken pieces in a shallow dish. Pour the marinade and lemon pieces over the top. Put in the oven for 30-40 minutes, basting after 15 minutes. It’s ready when the pieces are starting to brown.

Add 2 tablespoons of water and the mint and put back in the oven for 5 more minutes.  Serve with the liquid spooned over either potatoes or rice and if you can have milk some yoghurt would probably be nice.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in failures, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recipe: Roast Chicken with Lemon, Chilli and Mint

  1. Alison says:

    I think you have just given me the answer to tonight’s chicken problem. When I cooked it on Friday it was perfect but after being in the fridge for 2 days my lemon and caper chicken is way too lemony. I’ll put out some plain yogurt, that will help mellow it, thanks!

  2. Pingback: Recipe revisited: Chicken with Lemon, Chilli and Mint | The Ubiquitous Chickpea

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Chicken, Potato & Artichoke | The Ubiquitous Chickpea

Leave a Reply

