Milk free is not the same as diet, or can I have some calories, please?

image

This particular lunch was at the John Lewis cafe in Edinburgh, but they aren’t alone in causing me this problem. The food itself (harissa chicken on a flatbread – it has a nice kick to it) was fine, as was the side salad I supplemented it with, but I knew when I realised this was my only milk free option that I would be starving by 3. I’m not an athlete or anything, but I have 2 small children and no car so we walk a lot. I’m usually either pushing a buggy or carrying youngest on my back. Sometimes we cycle (youngest in bike seat, eldest had her own bike.) All this takes energy, which needs fuel. But the milk free option is often the one that is secretly the diet option. The fat that comes from the milk is out with no effort made to replace it. And I am left starving and cranky.

I should have copied eldest and had sausage in a roll.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in eating out, what do you eat?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

