Cooking with a toddler – Banana Bread

"A small child leans over a baking tin, using a marg wrapper to grease it"Until very recently my younger daughter hasn’t paid much attention to my cooking, but recently she’s been wanting to take part like her big sister does.  But it’s a lot harder to come up with things it’s safe for her to do – I give her sister knives, but I’m not that optimistic about an 18 month old’s manual dexterity!

"A small child adds a spoon of bicarb to the bowl"So far, we’ve come up with greasing the tin and adding spoonfuls of dry ingredients. I will need to come up with more.

"A loaf of banana bread on a chopping board"This was the final result of the toddler ‘help’ I’m pretty happy with it. I adapted a recipe from all recipes. I left out the salt as the marg I use is salted and I added choc chips because they were there.

Banana Bread with Choc Chips

250g plain flour
1 tsp bicarb
1 pack of plain chocolate chips (read the label carefully – some plain chips have milk powder or milk fat in them.)
115g vegan margarine
115g sugar
2 eggs
4 over ripe bananas (I weighed them and it was approx 420g – given the recipe I was following suggested 500g I don’t think this is an exact quantity area)

Put the oven on at 180 C, put your unpaid labour to work greasing the tin.

Mix the flour, bicarb and choc chips in a large bowl. Cream the butter and sugar together in another bowl. Add the eggs and mashed bananas and mix thoroughly.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir just enough to mix through.

Pour into tin and cook for about an hour until the centre is dry.  Leave to cool on a rack, removing from tin after a short while.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in cooking with kids, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

