Recipe: Roast Pork with Garlic and Fennel Seed Rub

image

We don’t usually buy pork for roasting as 18saughtonmains isn’t that fond of it, but this piece was half price as it was going past date so I couldn’t resist it.  In the end, as well as this meal, I’ve eaten pieces of it for a few snacks and we’ve had fried rice with pork twice, so I consider it £3.50 well spent.

I consulted various of my cookery books for this, but it turned out I didn’t have most of the things they suggested, so I poked about the store cupboard to see what I did have that I thought might work with pork.  I took the timing for the roast from the packaging.

The potatoes were new potatoes which I chucked into the roasting pan after the pork had been cooking for a bit, shock the tin to get them coated in hot oil and I then squeezed the juice of half a lemon over them.  Roast new (as in moist firm potatoes, rather than floury ones) are quite different from traditional roast spuds.  I tend to leave the skin on and they don’t get all that crispy but I still prefer them.  We also had wilted spinach but I forgot to take a photo of it.

image

Fennel and Garlic Rub

4 cloves of garlic
half teaspoon of fennel seeds
olive oil
lemon infused rapeseed oil

Mash the garlic, fennel seeds and oils together in a mortar until it’s a paste. At least this is what I was aiming for, but in reality the garlic pieces stayed pretty big and I was in a hurry.  You can use whatever oils you have around – I used the rape seed oil because we had it and I thought it would work with the other flavours.  It is also very nice in salad dressing.

Score the skin of the pork with a sharp knife.  Rub the garlic, fennel seed and oil mixture all over the roast but concentrate on the skin and fat.  Put the roast in a 200 C oven and for this size piece I cooked it for about an hour, but it will depend on the size of the roast you are using.

Let the roast rest for 20 minutes while the potatoes continue cooking.  If I hadn’t been using the pan for the potatoes, I might have made a pan gravy by putting the pan on the hob, adding some wine and stirring firmly to get all the pieces off the surface of the pan.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

