Recipe: Mini Lemon Cupcakes

image

The Lemon Drops I made at the start of the week made me wonder what the same mini lemon cupcake idea would be like with a wheat flour based cake and no vegetables.  The answer turned out to be very nice indeed.  I think I rather like this mini cupcake idea, though I’m unconvinced that I’m actually eating any less cake in total.

I started from a random mini cupcake recipe I found online but departed from it quite a lot.  I think what made these really special for me was the dark brown sugar which gave them a lovely caramel like taste.  The cakes were darker than is usual with fairy/cupcakes but I thought the added depth to the flavour was worth it.

Mini Lemon Cupcakes

3/4 cup self-raising flour
2/3 cup plain flour
1/2 cup marg, softened
1 cup dark brown sugar (white caster would work just as well)
2 large eggs
Juice of half a lemon (I would have added zest as well but I was using the already zested left over lemons so didn’t have any. It all depends on how lemony you like it.)
tablespoon oat milk

This made 33 mini cupcakes – 24 pretty full cases and 9 scant from the left over batter once the first 24 had been cooked.  Next time I might fill them a bit less and try for 36.

Preheat the oven to 160 C, then get any kitchen helpers to line at least 24 mini muffin tins with cases.

Beat the sugar and marg together until fluffy.  Add the eggs and beat some more.  Add half the flour mixture, then the lemon juice and the milk substitute and mix well.  Finally add the rest of the flour.

Put into the cases, filling them about 3/4 full.  Cook for 10 minutes, until springy to the touch.  Leave to cool.

For the icing I used the same recipe as the Lemon Drops.  Spread enthusiastically over the cakes once they are cool.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe: Mini Lemon Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Halloween mini cupcakes | The Ubiquitous Chickpea

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Fake Butter Icing or The Ubiquitous Cupcake | The Ubiquitous Chickpea

Leave a Reply

