Sourdough

image

After reading my blog, a neighbour was inspired to give me some of her starter, so I feed it tonight in preparation for making some bread later in the week.  I noticed she seems to keep it quite liquid, while the proportions suggested in Crust are more dough like.  We shall see – I can always up the water content if it doesn’t seem to be doing well.

This starter is at least as old as my neighbour’s younger son who is the same age as my eldest – we met at a mother and baby group and now our kids are in the same class at school. I hope I can keep it alive until youngest starts school at the very least.

I’m looking forward to cooking with this – I’ve found loads of good sounding sourdough recipes online, but have always been intimidated by the complicated sounding ways you first create a starter.  Having one pre-made allows me to skip straight to the baking.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in bread. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sourdough

  1. p neary says:

    “but have always been intimidated by the complicated sounding ways you first create a starter”
    interested to see how it goes, might have to come get some :)

  2. Pingback: First sourdough, some process thoughts and the end result | The Ubiquitous Chickpea

Leave a Reply

