Lemon and Lime biscuits

"Some biscuit dough cut into stars with a blue cutter"I’ve started watching The Great British Bake Off. I had avoided it for a while as often this sort of program is a little mocky for my taste but the GBB totally isn’t.  The Bread episode was my gateway, but I caught up on iPlayer and now have some favourite contestants I cheer on as well of lots of recipes I want to try.  Actually, they all seem lovely, which is a nice novelty – a tv program without a manufactured villain.

"Some biscuit dough cut into flower shapes with a red cutter"

Sadly one of my favourites left last night –  Jason, who blogs at Preheat the Oven. Eldest and I had just made some of his lemony biscuits with our new bright star and flower cutters, and they turned out lovely – I replaced the butter with marg and did a double batch – one with lemon zest as suggested, and one with lime zest.  The lime zest is much stronger – more experimentation is needed before I work out if this is a fault with the specific lemon or if lime zest is just stronger.  Visually, the lime zest definitely popped more.

"A bowl of flour with green lime zest scattered across the top"

Using smaller cutters – I may send a few biscuits to school as a post lunch snack so I wanted them to be small – the doubled recipe made over 60 biscuits, which is rather a lot.  But they are very pretty tumbled in the tin and I made sure the ones I over cooked were at the bottom of the tin for this shot.  With our fan oven at 180C, these only needed 5 to 6 minutes, so my first batch was way overdone at 7 and a half minutes.  Should have remembered to set the alarm earlier than seems reasonable.  Still, a tasty success and good fun to cut out together. Someday I will have eldest trained to cut in the most efficient way possible. Until then, she likes munching the left overs.

"A lot of biscuits"

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in cooking with kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

