Pie!

"A square flakey pastry topped pie"Pie is not really part of my cooking idiom – it wasn’t something my mum (or I suspect any Irish mother) made and I don’t remember learning how to make it at school.  I have also been intimidated by puff pastry and tend to buy it ready made as I had the idea it was too difficult and fiddly for mere mortals to make.  But after my buttery experiment the other day I decided to give it a try.

I used Holly’s Potato, Onion and Sausage Pie recipe and it turned out lovely.  To make it milk free I used marg in the pastry (which was still lovely and flakey) and made a totally new sauce which was a pot of soya cream, two teaspoons of French grain mustard and a few splashes of oat milk to thin it.  All in all, it seemed very English and hearty, which is all one can ask for in a pie, I feel.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in how to. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

