Pork Tsunkune with Teriyake Dipping Sauce – A Qualified Success

"meat patties on a plate srrounding a small blue bowl filled with a dark dipping sauce"

Apologies for the bad photo.  It’s proper autumn here now and I’m going to need to work on lighting for evening meal photographs.  Not that anyone is here for my photography.

The failure bit of making this was in the integrity of my patties.  The ones up there at least roughly held their shape, the first batch I did just completely fell to bits so I poured some of the sauce over them and cooked them through as a sort of teriyake hash.  Also, I suspect my definition of roughly chopped vegetables is more rough than Harumi Kurihara’s. This recipe is from Everyday Harumi, a book by ‘Japan’s Delia Smith’.  This one was written in London so she could get a feel for what ingredients could be sourced in the UK.  This is the only recipe I’ve done so far and taste wise it was gorgeous.  My perfect presentation wise, not so much.

I like this book to look at and all the savoury recipes are my family friendly but for some reason I found it hard to actually decide what to try from it.  I tend to be better at stick everything in a pot and leave for hours savoury cooking rather than a pernickity prep method of cooking and I, possibly unfairly, expect these recipes to be like this.  I’m planning to do a few more – the Ginger Pork sounds lovely and straight forward, for example.

Dipping Sauce

Mix soy sauce, mirin and caster sugar in a ratio of 25ml:25ml:1 tablespoon (I did 150ml:150ml:6 tablespoons to go with my 700g of meat) and bring to the boil. Simmer for approx 20 minutes until glossy and reduced. Skim off any scum and put aside.

Tsunkune

Onions – I used 2 red ones because that’s what I had.
About half as much celery as onions
700g minced meat – I used pork mince
salt and pepper
1 egg
2 tablespoons flour
basil leaves

Roughly chop the vegetables.  Add them to a bowl with all the rest of the ingredients except the basil.  Mix together well.  Add the basil just before you are ready to cook.  Shape the patties by hand – about 5cm in diameter according to the book.  Heat oil in a pan and add the patties once the oil is hot.  Cook until browned on both sides.  If eating hot serve with the sauce in a dipping bowl, if waiting a while dip them into the sauce while still hot to flavour them.  Serve with lemon wedges.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, failures, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

