Guacamole: our house version

image

Many years ago I live in a house share in Tooting.  Tooting was a great place to live and as well as the local pub with good cider on tap, it had many many southern Indian restaurants and good small shops with decent vegetables.  So it was always possible to get actual ripe avocado.  My then flatmate Lucie, who is American, showed me this method of making guacamole, which is sort of a cheat but also has never let me down and unlike much shop bought guacamole doesn’t have sour cream in it.  Nowadays I buy avocado from Lidl and miss Tooting’s Indian food but not the Tube.

Guacamole

Take a ripe avocado, cut in half and put the flesh in a bowl.  Add 2 to 3 teaspoons of jarred salsa (check the ingredients, these sometimes have milk powder), and mash together with the avocado.  I use a potato masher, but a fork would work as well, just take longer.  You want it to be mixed but still slightly lumpy.  If I have a lime around I add a squeeze and then taste to see if it needs salt.  Eat with tortilla chips (again, check the ingredients) or bean chilli.  Feel nostalgic for your twenties if you are me, but that’s not obligatory.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in hidden milk, Recipes, vegan, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guacamole: our house version

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    yum, this looks so good. I love guacamole!

Leave a Reply

