Ridiculously Easy Sweets: Honeycomb

"Honeycombed toffee"I made this on a whim this evening – read something which mentioned it and thought it would be fun to make quickly after tea.  I didn’t label this as cooking with kids as the kids didn’t help but despite the hot sugar I would happily make this with eldest after sternly telling her about how hot sugar can get.  In fact, I may make some with her as a Giftmas thing.

"2 jars filled with pieces of honeycomb"

Honeycomb

7 tablespoons caster sugar
2 tablespoons golden syrup
splash of water
2 teaspoons bicarbonate of soda

Mix the sugar, golden syrup and water in a pan and heat, keeping the sugar moving so it doesn’t catch.  On masterchef they say you can do this by swirling the pan, but I used a spoon as I’m not a pro.  The small bit of water is just to keep things moving until the sugar melts and kept be left out if you’re confident you won’t let the sugar burn.  If you have a sugar thermometer, keep going until it reads 150 degrees, if not (I don’t, in case anyone is wondering about a christmas present) you can use the water test, which is well described here. You’re aiming for hard crack.  Then take the sugar off the heat, add in the bicarb and whisk.  The mixture will foam up and lighten in colour.  Once there are bubbles all through the mixture pour it into a paper lined tin or bowl.  Let to cool for at least half an hour, more if you’ve poured it into something deep.  Then break it into pieces and try to ration it to give your teeth a chance.

I did dip a few pieces in some melted chocolate and I’ve included a photo, but I’m unconvinced – I suspect the G&B 85% dark wasn’t the right chocolate for the job.  I used it because it’s too strong for me to just eat, I’d bought it by accident and I wanted to use it.  Need more experimentation.  If you’d like to do something similar, melt the chocolate in a bowl over simmering water and dip the pieces in using tongs.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in Recipes, sweet stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ridiculously Easy Sweets: Honeycomb

  1. Kate says:

    Fab idea. I will have a shot too, see how many children I can maim in the process.

  2. I’ve fancied making honeycomb for ages but never got around to it, might have a try this weekend!

  3. Bex says:

    May be a very silly question but would you use a metal or a non-stick pan?

    • Nuala says:

      Actually, I have no idea – I used a le creuset pan because that was the handy one that was the right size. I’d probably be slow to use nonstick in case it interacted badly with the coating but I have no justification for that.

      • Bex says:

        Thanks! Have attempted, not sure I whisked long enough but it was starting to thicken so I decided to stop there and just go with it. It may be a case of practise makes perfect for the amateurs.

Leave a Reply

