Recipe: Meen Molee (Coconut Fish Curry)

image

Last week was half term, so there was cooking, but no blogging time as I usually blog after dropping eldest to school while youngest is watching Show Me, Show Me before we head off to whatever we’re doing that morning.  But I have been cooking, including an over complicated fish soup yesterday that is several posts worth of food ideas.

Anyway, since my previous fish curry recipe was so popular (more people have told me they’ve made it than anything else I’ve written about) I thought I’d write up the follow up recipe that is actually closer to what I was trying to achieve.  Lots of people said they added vegetables to the previous recipe and this one is also very fish centric.  I tend to like having a second veg dish with a slightly different sauce but I’m sure peppers would add very well to this recipe too.

Meen Molee

440g white fish, skinned and chopped into pieces (I used pollock because that’s what we had in the freezer, when I had it at Dakin it was made with monkfish)
1 teaspoon of salt mixed with 1 teaspoon turmeric
addition salt and turmeric
2 tablespoons coconut oil (The halal shop on Gorgie Road sells this incredibly cheap & the smell reminds me of when my mum used it on my hair when I was a kid with very tangled straw like hair.)
2 onions, finely chopped
2 green chillies, slit lengthways and deseeded
3 garlic cloves, in strips
20 curry leaves – I suspect fresh would be ideal but I used dried.
A tin of coconut milk

Rub the salt and turmeric mixture into the fish pieces.  Heat the coconut oil and fry the onions, garlic and chillies, keeping them moving.  Add the curry leaves and cook until the onions are translucent but aren’t yet browning.

Add 1/2 teaspoon each of turmeric and salt.  Pour in the coconut milk and heat.  when it is starting to bubble add the fish and cook on a very low heat until the fish is cooked – about 8 to 10 minutes.

We had it with rice and 18saughtonmains would have liked more chillies but it seemed about hot enough for me.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in Fish, Recipes, revisited. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

