Trying Out Being A Hedgehog

I’m usually a fox type of a person – I like to know and do many things. The jobs I’ve enjoyed have been the ones that played to my fox tendencies – needing to know and do many things, no two days the same. And I’m like that with cooking too – I like to make new things, try new flavours and techniques but I’m not always great at repeating things to make sure I know them really well. But after a year or so of being a bread fox, I took a bit of a break and didn’t cook any bread at all for while.

Then a few weeks ago I decided I missed bread but this time I am just doing the same recipe over and over again. The same proportions of flour, yeast, salt and water, the same resting times, the same bread shape and I am discovering the joys of being a hedgehog. How slight differences of what I do changes the end result. Relearning how to slash the loaves so they blow up into a beautiful crust. And the results are going down well with the family.

20120531-110914.jpg
Before repetition

20120531-145510.jpg
After

Baguettes

500g bread flour
5g yeast
10g salt
350g of water

Mix the flour, yeast and salt together. Add the water and mix together. Once it is in a ball, knead it for 5 to 10 minutes until it is smooth. The dough is quite wet but resist the temptation to add more water, it will get less sticky with kneading. Once it is smooth, leave it to rise for an hour.

After resting, cut the dough into 3 pieces of equal size (I weigh them, but that’s a bit obsessive) and form them into balls. Leave to rest for 15 minutes. Then shape into baguettes (what I have learnt during these weeks is that gentle firmness pays off when doing this) and leave to proof for another hour. Preheat the oven to 220 C.

When ready to cook, shake on some flour, then slash the loaves – about 3 slashes per loaf seems to work well at this size. Put in the oven and cook for 15 to 18 minutes. Stand back and admire the result and consider what small detail you varied this time.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in bread, meta. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trying Out Being A Hedgehog

  1. Alison says:

    Do you weigh your yeast, or are you not *quite* that obsessive?

    • Nuala says:

      I am that obsessive, I’m afraid. Teaspoons are too inaccurate and those little packets of 7g risk your bread tasting of yeast. And also they add up.

  2. Food Stories says:

    Enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Either way, hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

