Chocolate Tartine

I’ve been reading The Little Paris Kitchen. I lived in Belgium as a child so simple straight forward French cooking is very familiar from family trips to Northern France, but I got out of the habit of French style cooking as food fashions changed. This book reminded me of what I’ve been missing and I will be returning to this style for the next wee while. As ever with French cooking, there is an awful lot of butter, but most of the recipes are simple and I think many of them can be tweaked to work for us.

To start with, I went for something simple:

20120812-195917.jpg

Put your chocolate (I used Green & Black 70%) in the freezer for about 10 minutes to make it easy to chop and then chop it into pieces. Brush some olive oil over the pieces of bread and then sprinkle on the chocolate pieces. Stick the bread under the grill for long enough to melt the chocolate and then use a knife to spread the melted goodness more evenly. Fight the kids off for long enough to take a photo.

Perfect fuel to watch the Olympic closing ceremony.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in cooking with kids, how to, sweet stuff, vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

