YetAnotherSoupRecipe

I continue in my search to find soup my kids will actually eat. In fairness to my younger daughter, if her sister isn’t around she’ll eat soup fine, but the second the school girl says ‘yuck!’ all bets are off. I made this version in abut 20 minutes this morning after deciding I couldn’t face paying 2.50 for a shop one. I squinted at their ingredient list and then vamped.

Bean and Tomato Soup with Paprika

Soup vegetables – today I used 2 onions, 2 stalks of celery, a carrot and a courgette
Garlic
Paprika, I used smoked because I had some.
2 tins of beans – I used kidney and cannoli, again because that’s what I had.
2 tins of tomatoes
Vegetable stock, to fill the pot

Put some olive oil into the pot. Slice the vegetables and put in the pot. I used my mandolin, which is still my favourite kitchen gadget. Heat until the vegetables soften. Add some minced garlic and stir for another minute. Add the paprika. I just shock some out of the packet, I’d guess about a teaspoonful. Stir again to give the paprika a chance to heat in the oil and coat the vegetables. Add the drained vegetables, stir and then add the tomatoes. Pour in the stock. Heat up to the boil and simmer for 20 minutes or until the beans are soft. Blend and check for seasoning.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in Recipes, vegan, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to YetAnotherSoupRecipe

  1. 18saughtonmains says:

    You’ll have more luck with the odler daughter if you can convince her it’s new-style broccoli soup

Leave a Reply

