Hummus, my way

image

It seems weird I haven’t done a hummus recipe yet, but 18saughtonmains is the default hummus maker around here and although he has promised to post his recipe, he hasn’t got around to it yet. So here is mine, inspired by one I found in Jerusalem, my new favourite recipe book. In fact, I seem to be on a total Med trip over the last few years – anything Southern Spanish, Middle Eastern or Magreb seems to make me happy – the kids bought me a North African cook book for Christmas and I’m looking forward to working through it as well.

There seem to be two axis that hummus recipes vary on. The first is the amount of tahini. 18saughtonmains likes his hummus tahini heavy, whereas I like it more garlicky. The second axis is if you put oil in it. Again, this is source of family argument – I like the oil light versions, he likes it with a fair amount of oil. But since I made this version, I got to have it my way. Btw, the book version uses dried chickpeas, I used a can. Also, half the tahini.

Creamy Hummus

A can of chickpeas, drained and washed.
3 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
2 tablespoons tahini
Juice of a lemon and a half
Salt
Water

Put the chickpeas in a food processor (I have one of the small chopper things that comes with a stick blender, seems to work) and blend until it is an evenly textured paste. Now add the tahini, lemon juice, garlic and salt and whizz again until the mixture is even. Taste and add more salt or lemon juice if required. Then add a small amount of water and mix. Keep slowly adding water until you are happy with the texture. Eat at room temp, but keep in a fridge.

We ate this in a bowl with fried marinated lamb, toasted pine nuts and a lemony herby sauce. On the side was some of the olive oil bread I have been experimenting with. I would love to eat like this every day.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in actual chickpeas, how to, Recipes, vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hummus, my way

  1. Alison says:

    I now copy a friend’s recipe and put a teaspoon of ground cumin in mine. Delicious. And sometimes a small tin of roasted red peppers, because they are so cheap here. By contrast I never use tinned chickpeas here because they are so expensive!

Leave a Reply

