Recipe: Armenian Lentil Soup

20130204-133859.jpg

I’ve been messing about with this recipe for a while but this was finally the right version. Thick, while still being a little soupy, strong lemon taste and warming enough for the confused weather of early spring. I swear that in the last 5 minutes it has both snowy and been sunny outside our living room window.

Before I get to the recipe, I’m not going to apologise for the lack of blogging recently, because that’s boring, but I will say we are moving house soon and I hope a kitchen with a south facing window (or a window at all) will help me take better pictures so I feel like I am doing the food justice. I also need the kids to get through their fussy phase, so I get to make more varied food, but that will come with time.

Armenian Lentil Soup

1 small onion
1 small carrot
Garlic glove
2 bay leaves
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried dill
A cup of lentils – I mixed green and red as red alone made it too mushy.
A half cup of rice.
1 litre of veg stock (from a powder/cube is fine)
Lemon juice

Slice the onion and carrot finely. Fry in some oil until softened. Add crushed garlic and bay leaves. Swish around until you can smell the aromatics. Add the lentils and rice and stir. Throw in the herbs and then add the stock. Bring to the boil and start simmering. Add the lemon juice – I had a very juicy lemon so 1 was enough, but you really want this to taste of the lemon, so use 2 if necessary. Simmer until the rice and lentils are tender – about 30 minutes is enough though longer won’t hurt. Eat while wishing the weather would make up its mind.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in Recipes, vegan, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recipe: Armenian Lentil Soup

  1. alex.in.shandon says:

    Everyone loves this soup. Except the kids. When do they grow out of fussy?

Leave a Reply

