Halloween mini cupcakes

image

The cupcake recipe is the Lemon cupcake one I posted before. This time I was miserly about the amount I put into each case and got 45 mini cakes out of that quantity.  I had grand decorating ambitions and then remembered how bad I am at that sort of fiddly work, so went for the simple option – spider webs.  Instructions (such as they are) after the cut.

First, make up the icing – I used about 150g of icing sugar and a splash of warm water.  You want it to be thin enough to manipulate but still pretty stiff – I overshot and had to add more sugar.  Separate out a small amount of the icing and add black food colouring (I use Wilton paste, which usually dyes my hand for about a day).  Add yellow and red colouring to the rest (or orange if you have it, but it was a useful colour mixing discussion with eldest) and mix until you happy with the colour.

For the first few cakes I tried spreading the icing with the back of a spoon but then I realised dipping was the way to go.  So dip the cakes in the orange icing in batches aof about 6.  Then add 2 circles of black icing as in the picture below.

Then take a toothpick and drag the black out in about 6 or 7 lines around the cake. Taa Daa! A spider web.  I suggest doing this in small batches as this makes it less likely the orange icing will have dried enough to crack.  Serve to dressed up and excited 5 years old and don’t let on how simple they were to decorate.

About Nuala

Geeky feminist Irish woman living in Scotland. Has two daughters and a lot of yarn. Really likes hummus.
This entry was posted in how to, revisited, sweet stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment